Scroll To Top
National Honey Show

Mission Statement

To encourage and promote beekeeping by showcasing honey and related products through the medium of national and international competitive classes.

Honey Classes

About Us

The National Honey Show is the UK's premier honey show with international classes, Lecture Convention and Workshops.

Next Show
Thursday 24th to Saturday 26th October 2024.

The National Honey Show is an annual event held at the end of October in and around the London area. The Venue for 2024 is Sandown Park Racecourse in Surrey.

The National Honey Show has nearly two hundred and fifty Competitive Classes to test your skills. The show attracts beekeepers from all over the world to compete for the much coveted trophies and prize cards.

To encourage new exhibitors and membership we will make available the Schedule for downloading and printing in August 2024.

General Stewards

The National Honey Show relies on a large team of volunteers. Any offers of help at the 2024 show itself are welcome.

Request to be a Judges Steward at the 2024 Show
If you wish to be considered as a Judge's Steward for the 2024 Show please download/print and filling the Application Form PDF and email it to Enid Brown, Judges' Referee at

National Honey Show Blue Ribbon Award

The Blue Ribbon is designed as the premier award at honey shows round the country and can be awarded by a National Honey Show Judge who has obtained the Show Judge Certificate from an approved Examinations Board.

NHS Approved Judges (updated 30/11/21)

Terry Ashley, Sandbach, Cheshire
Eleanor Attridge, Ireland
Michael Badger, MBE, Leeds, West Yorkshire
Hazel Blackburn, Reading, Berkshire
Paul Boyle, Ireland
Alan Brown, Pontefract, Yorkshire
Enid Brown, Scotlandwell, Kinross-shire
Sue Carter, Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
Moyra Davidson, Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Fiona Dickson, Thetford, Norfolk
John Donoghue, Ireland
Mike Duffin, Ringwood, Hampshire
Ivor Flatman, Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Jim Fletcher, Newtonards, Co. Down
John Goodwin, Congleton, Cheshire
Stephen Guest, Sandback, Cheshire
Tony Jefferson,
Christine Matthews, Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
Peter Matthews, Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
Jack Mummery, Barnstaple, Devon
Joyce Nisbet, Wrexham, Shropshire
Suzette Perkins, Langport, Somerset
Tom Salter, Nether Wallop, Stockbridge
Pierre Sanders, Netherlands
David Shannon, Wroot, Doncaster
Deborah Smith, Eardislay, Hereford
Bron Wright, Edinburgh
David Wright, Edinburgh

These Judges carry a supply of Blue Ribbons and Novice awards and will issue them at shows as appropriate. Please note that the Blue Ribbon may only be awarded at shows that attract over 100 entries in all beekeeping classes.

For those arranging a Honey Show and needing a Judge the BBKA publish a list available here:

National Council Members 2023


Anne Rowberry
Paul Moorhouse
Sue Carter
Bill Fisher
Helen Palmer
Claire O'Brien
John Roberts
John Goodwin
Pete Sutcliffe
Sarah Johnson
Dover & District BKA
Len Mole
Jim McNeill
Debbie Smith
Laurence Longe
Diane Bruce
Chris Mercer
Jenny Spon-Smith
David Cockburn
Peter Bashford
Lincolnshire BKA
Catherine Lake
Iain Burnley
Gill Smith
John Chapman
Jo Telfer
Bill Fitzmaurice
Caroline Geheran
Jo Vine
Pat Marshall
Norfolk West & King's Lynn
Venetia Rist
Sarah Brown
Phillipa Williams
Brian Moore
Mike Hall
David Chase
Andrew Barber
Pete Bull
Simon Croson
Hazel Blackburn
Jenny Morgan
Scottish BKA
Enid Brown
Bron Wright
Shropshire North
Joyce Nisbet
Suzy Perkins
Mark Gullick
Bridget Knutson
Anne Pike
Elizabeth Poupard
Kevin Thorn
Jane Corcoran
Paul White
Andrew Gibb
Julie Hogarth
Ben Pratt
Sheila Fellows-Turnbull
Helen Hadley
Norman Dickinson
Bernard Diaper
Welsh BKA
Caroline Mullinex
Jenny Shaw
Karen Pratt
John Bowles
Chris Rawlings
Sue Rawlings
Federation of Irish Beekeepers
Eleanor Attridge
Paul Boyle
Liam McGarry
John Donoghue

Novice Prize Winners Gift Admission Tickets

Offered to winners of novice, beginners, junior, and school classes at any honey show, the ticket carries with it a copy of the schedule and programme and admission to the show including the convention lectures on the day selected by the recipient.

The range of classes at a honey show eligible for the scheme is subject to the widest interpretation. At some shows the novice class is strictly for those who have never competed before, at others the classes are open to those who have never won a 1st prize before; they all qualify. School and junior classes have no limitations, so long as the novices and beginners class is for beekeeping products and is at a honey show or in the beekeeping section of another kind of show.

Note: Only one Novice award can be made at any honey show.

The ticket only requires filling in and signing by the Show Secretary to make it valid for the admission of the prize winner and friend to the National Honey Show. It is issued by the Hon. General Secretary.


No.1 A Short History of the National Honey Show
No.2 Beeswax Candles for Show
No.3 Comb Honey for Show
No.4 Granulated or Crystallised Honey
No.5 Judging Honey in the Jar
No.6 Management, Production and Exhibiting of Heather Honey
No.7 Preparation of Liquid Honey
No.8 Producing Mead for Showing and Drinking
No.9 Showing Honey Products
No.10 The Study of Pollen (A Short History)
No.11 Wax for Show

Booklets are available at the show for £3.50 each.

Booklets in PDF format (downloads) can be purchased from our Shop for £3.00 each.


If you attended last years show or this years show you can leave Feedback on a secure form.

Data Protection Act

All members and exhibitors should be aware that the show is no longer registered under the Data Protection Act. Personal data will be held on a computer. Such data will only be used for the purposes of the show and will not be sold on.

How We Use Cookies

Website Cookies

Follow us for latest news on Facebook, and feel free to share with friends and colleagues.

Follow us on Facebook

Twitter Feed

Follow the National Honey Show Twitter feed in the run up and during the show @nathoneyshow for all the latest news and developments. Receive lecture reminders 15 minutes before they start.